Costa Brava Regional Overview

Bathed in the spectacular Mediterranean sunlight, the Costa Brava climate is ideal all year round. The unspoilt countryside offers many options for exploring a region which captures the true spirit of the Mediterranean.

The different natural areas such as the Parc Natural del Cap de Creus or the Serra de l’Albera, not to mention Aiguamolls del Empordà or Les Gavarres, provide a wide range of options for those practising sea and mountain sports.

Important Romanesque remains can be found at the monastery of Sant Pere de Rodes, which boasts exceptional views of a natural landscape, unspoilt for centuries. Traces of the Middle Ages are visible in many towns such as PalsPeratallada or Púbol, whereas the Jewish quarter of Girona, the capital of one of the four provinces of Catalonia, is a contrast to the modernity of such a thriving city.

Gastronomy on the is linked to the prestige of well-known chefs, as well as no end of traditional and innovating dishes, complemented by the excellent wines of the l’Empordà.

Art and culture are also associated with famous artists such as Salvador Dalí. Three villages: Figueres, Cadaqués and Port Lligat, pay host to his important legacy. Other artists, such as Pablo Picasso, were also attracted by the beauty of the Costa Brava villages, their narrow streets and surrounding landscapes.

The first tourists arrived on the Costa Brava in the 1930s and they integrated well with the local fishermen and farmers. However, the real tourist boom took place in the 1960s, with significant urban development taking place along some parts of the coast. Luckily some areas have been preserved and hopefully will be enjoyed for many years to come.

It can be said that the coastline has been largely respected throughout the years of urban development and the Costa Brava can pride itself in having received certificates recognising the high quality of its beaches.

One of the biggest attractions of the Costa Brava for visitors from all over the world is the hospitality of its locals who, together with the historical legacy of the region and the wide variety of places to visit, make the Costa Brava the ideal place to visit at any time of the year.

The Costa Brava region is sub-divided into counties, each with a capital. On My Guide Costa Brava you will find the best and most comprehensive information to search for accommodation in each of these capitals, not to mention where to eat, what to do, where the nightlife is or where go shopping.

Register with us and start to use your trip planner right now!

Costa Brava Comarcas








  • Cassà de la Selva
  • Girona (Capital)
  • Llagostera
  • Salt
  • Sant Julià de Ramis
  • Sarrià de Ter



  • Banyoles (Capital)
  • Cornellà del Terri
  • Fontcoberta



  • Anglès
  • Arbúcies
  • Blanes
  • Caldes de Malavella
  • Hostalrich
  • Lloret de Mar
  • Maçanet de la Selva
  • Riudarenes
  • Riudellots de la Selva
  • Santa Coloma de Farners (Capital)
  • Sant Hilari Sacalm
  • Sils
  • Tossa de Mar
  • Vidreres


Video courtesy of Catalan Tourism Board - Government of Catalonia